Skip to main content
28th Annual Green Chemistry & Engineering Conference



Alexi Lapkin

Alexi Lapkin

Professor of Sustainable Reaction Engineering

University of Cambridge

Alexi Lapkin graduated with an MChem from Novosibirsk State University, specializing in membrane gas separation. He then worked at Boreskov Institute of Catalysis (Russia) prior to moving to the University of Bath (UK) where he was employed as a research officer, which allowed him to complete his Ph.D. in the area of multiphase membrane catalysis. After first teaching at the University of Warwick, he began his current position as professor of sustainable reaction engineering in the department of chemical engineering and biotechnology at the University of Campbridge.

Alexi’s research group is developing clean, intensive processes for manufacture of molecules, formulations or functional materials. They are working on methods of modelling chemical processes, starting from molecular modelling methods and extending to multi-objective process optimisation and life cycle assessment. They have pioneered methods of machine learning for automated process optimisation, and are exploring methods of Big Data in application to chemical reaction networks. They are working with many industry sectors and have an international network of collaborations.

Jared Piper

Jared Piper

Director of Process Chemistry in Chemical R&D


Jared Piper received his BS Chemistry degree at Michigan State University and completed his Ph.D. in organic chemistry at Wayne State University. Following completion of his doctoral thesis, he joined the group of Prof. K. C. Nicolaou at the Scripps Research Institute as a post-doctoral fellow focused on natural product synthesis.

Jared started his industrial career with Eli Lilly and Company as a process chemist in 2006 and held various roles of increasing responsibility before joining Pfizer in 2016. He is currently a Director of Process Chemistry in Chemical Research and Development, where he serves as both an accountable manager of late-phase projects and a direct supervisor of development scientists. Some of his most notable contributions include the development of baricitinib (Olumiant®) and nirmatrelvir (contained in Paxlovid®). In addition to projects and people, he is active in the green chemistry community and external collaborations with several academic professors for the advancement of fluorocarbon synthesis.


kevin armbrust

Kevin L. Armbrust

Professor & Department Chair

Louisiana State University

Andrea Ashley-Oyewole

Andrea Ashley-Oyewole

Assistant Professor

Prairie View A&M University

Andreas Bommarius

Andreas Bommarius


Georgia Institute of Technology

Sachin Handa

Associate Professor

University of Missouri

Glenn Hurst

Glenn Hurst

Associate Professor of Chemistry Education

University of York

Jennifer MacKellar

Program Director
Change Chemistry

Nitesh Mehta

Co-founder & Director Green ChemisTree Foundation
Co-Founder & Director, Newreka Green Synth

Samy Ponnusamy

Director & Fellow, Green Chemistry
Frank Roschangar

Frank Roschangar

Highly Distinguished Research Fellow, IU Sustainability

Boehringer Ingelheim Pharmaceuticals

The Conference Co-Chairs and GC&E Advisory Committee are responsible for developing the Conference’s programming, reviewing symposia submissions, selecting keynote speakers, proving creative ideas for special events, conference promotion, and partnerships. Please contact if you would like to nominate yourself or someone else to serve in a future year.

Receive Updates & News About the Conference

The American Chemical society respects your privacy. ACS utilizes your information to contact you regarding services, news, and opportunities. At any time, you may unsubscribe from any communications. For more information, see the ACS privacy policy.